WGR Hands Out Hardware

After weather played havoc with the schedule all summer long at Wyant Group Raceway, it’s November, the sun is shining, it’s 20 degrees and there is no more racing to be done.  Saturday, members of the Saskatoon Stock Car Racing Association were indoors at Prairieland Park, handing out hardware at its annual awards banquet.

Every division gets awards, as all recognize first, second and third place with trophies.  Most also give out statistical awards for things like most feature wins and rookie of the year.  There’s also awards in most divisions, voted by the other drivers, such as most courteous driver, most improved driver, best looking car and team, and the award nobody wants to win, the Phoenix or hard luck award.

Besides a championship trophy, there is one award that is considered the most prestigious among the drivers.  That is the Fan Favorite Driver, voted on through the year by race fans at the races.

The Fan Favorite Driver award is usually announced at the final race  of the year, but as luck would have it, that last race was rained out.

Maybe the track should win a Phoenix award.

Wyant Group Raceway and the Saskatoon Stock Car Racing Association is pleased to announce that the winner of the 2016 Fan Favorite Driver award is the driver of the Golf’s Car Wash Street Stock Division #3 car, Craig Katelnikoff.

Full list of awards handed out Saturday, November 5, 2016:

Saskatoon CrimeStoppers Bandolero Division:

1st Place: #14 Ty Stewart

2nd Place: #93 Ryley Schneider

3rd Place: #21 Dakota Wollf

Rookie of the year: #21 Dakota Wollf

Most feature wins: #14 Ty Stewart


Golf’s Car Wash Mini Stock Division:

1st Place: #41 Jim Barnsley

2nd Place: #23 Cole Nixey

3rd Place: #4 Shawn Magee

Rookie of the year: #7 Dylan Isley

Most feature wins: #41 Jim Barnsley & #4 Shawn Magee (tie) Most courteous driver: #5 Darcy King Most improved driver: #37 Scott Kozak Best looking car and team: #37 Scott Kozak Phoenix award: #77 Shawn Conarroe


Saskatoon Shrine Club Sask Legends Division:

1st Place: #21 Blake Erb

2nd Place: #84 AJ Morrison

3rd Place: #27 Jody Stewart

Rookie of the year: #16 Stan Friesen

Most feature wins: #21 Blake Erb

Most courteous driver: #21 Blake Erb

Most improved driver: #316 Stan Friesen

Phoenix award: #21 Blake Erb


Golf’s Car Wash Stree Stock Division:

1st Place: #81 Kurtis Houben

2nd Place: #3 Craig Katelnikoff

3rd Place: #18 Mike Rea

Rookie of the year: #1 Scott Barrand

Most feature wins: #81 Kurtis Houben & #3 Craig Katelnikoff (tie) Most courteous driver: #1 Scott Barrand Phoenix award: #1 Scott Barrand


Tiger Automotive Pro Truck Division:

1st Place: #49 Shantel Kalika

2nd Place: #19 Aaron Anderson

3rd Place: #01 Alex Leschenko

Rookie of the year: #92 Brennan Kirton

Most feature wins: #19 Aaron Anderson

Most courteous driver: #88 Brad Wrennick Most improved driver: #14 Cpl William Stetzner Best looking car and team:#49 Shantel Kalika Phoenix award: #5 Ian McLean


Shell V-Power Sportsman Division:

1st Place: #28 Cale Siemens

2nd Place: #49 Ben Busch

3rd Place: #93 Neil Schneider

Rookie of the year: #42 Nicole Sheetka

Most feature wins: #28 Cale Siemens

Most courteous driver: #49 Ben Busch

Most improved driver: #42 Nicole Sheetka Best looking car and team: #15 Dave McIntosh & #33 Ryan Thompson (tie) Phoenix award: #33 Ryan Thompson


WSSL Super Late Model Division:

1st Place: #17 Rob Janzen

2nd Place: #12 Matthew Shirley

3rd Place: #62 Kenny Heintz

Rookie of the year: #12 Matthew Shirley

Most feature wins: #17 Rob Janzen

Most courteous driver: #8 Andrew Clewes

Most improved driver: #62 Kenny Heintz

Best looking car and team:#38 Dave Bone & #97 Jared Reddekopp (tie) Phoenix award: #97 Jared Reddekopp


Sky Financial Super Late Model Series:

1st Place: #55 Jim Gaunt

2nd Place: #70 Trent Seidel

3rd Place: #17 Rob Janzen


That wraps up the 2016 season for Wyant Group Raceway.  Planning is already underway for 2017 with the new SSCRA Executive in place.