SK Hockey Hall Of Fame Announces Class of 2015

The Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame introduced their class of 2015 this afternoon at Sasktel Centre in Saskatoon.

This year’s inductees are:

Players Category

Wendel Clark

A man who really needs no introduction to hockey fans, Wendel Clark is arguably the most popular player to ever wear a Saskatoon Blades jersey. After two dominant years with the Blades, Clark was chosen 1st overall in the 1985 NHL Draft by the Toronto Maple Leafs, and would go on to a 15 year career in the NHL. All of the things Saskatchewan fans appreciate in hockey – toughness, character and heart – those are what made Wendel into the Saskatchewan hockey legend he is today.

Guyle Fielder

Gretzky, Howe and Fielder. Those are the only men to ever crack the 2,000 point barrier in pro-fessional hockey. Fielder, who moved to Nipawin with his family at a young age, quickly became a hockey hero in Saskatchewan. Fielder would go on to play an incredible 22 seasons in the Western Hockey League, leading the league in scoring nine times, assists 10 times, and scored 122 points in 1957, which at the time was the professional hockey record.

Vic Lynn

A product of Saskatoon, Lynn played in the NHL during hockey’s Original Six era – and played for all six teams, becoming the only man to ever do so. Lynn arguably had his greatest success with the Toronto Maple Leafs, playing on a line with Howie Meeker and Ted Kennedy. Lynn would help lead the Leafs to three Stanley Cups during his time in Toronto, lifting the Cup in 1947, 1948 and 1949. After his playing days were over, Lynn served as a coach for both the Prince Albert Mintos and the Saskatoon Quakers.

Dave “Tiger” Williams

When you think of Weyburn’s Dave Williams, the NHL penalty box probably comes to mind. The man known as Tiger would spend an incredible 3966 minutes in the box, the all-time record. Along the way, he would become a popular player for several NHL teams, both for his gritty style of play, and for his scoring touch – 241 goals and over 500 career points.

Builders Category

Dave King

Dave King of North Battleford has seen and done it all in the coaching world. Getting his start with the University of Saskatchewan in 1972, King would win three conference championships and be named coach of the year in 1980. He would lead the Canadian World Junior team to several championships in the 1980’s, and would win a silver medal at the 1992 Olympics as the Coach of Team Canada. King spent several years behind the bench for the Calgary Flames and Montreal Canadiens, before becoming the first coach of the Columbus Blue Jackets. King has also coached in Germany, Russia and Sweden. Hockey Canada named him to the Order of Hockey in Canada as part of its 2013 class.

Jackie McLeod

Born in Regina, Jackie McLeod would go on to have an incredible career in hockey. Both as a player and coach, McLeod made his mark in the hockey world. McLeod would play in the NHL with the New York Rangers, and in the WHL with Saskatoon Quakers, Vancouver Canucks and Calgary Stampeders. After his playing days were over, McLeod would coach the Canadian Na-tional Team, winning a bronze medal at the 1968 Olympics. He would serve as the Coach and General Manager of the Saskatoon Blades in the 1970’s, and coached Team Canada in the 1975 World Juniors.

Doctor Gerry Rooney

Perhaps no man is more important to the Humboldt Broncos that Rooney. Rooney, who hails from Humboldt, helped to bring the Broncos to Humboldt in the late 1960’s, originally as an affiliate of the Swift Current Broncos. Taking two sets of Broncos jerseys from the team in Swift Current, the Humboldt Broncos were born – and would storm all the way to the league final in
their first season. Rooney would stay with the Broncos until 1976, but was still involved with them for several years following.

Team Category

2002-2003 Humboldt Broncos

The 2002-2003 version of the Broncos will always be remembered as the first team to bring the National Championship to Humboldt. The Broncos would win the league championship over the Melville Millionaires, and follow that up by defeating the OCN Blizzard of the Manitoba Junior Hockey League to win the Anavet Cup. The team would then cap off the incredible season, defeating the Camrose Kodiaks in the final of the RBC Cup to claim their first ever National Championship.

1934 Saskatoon Quakers

The 1934 Saskatoon Quakers were one of the greatest teams in the world at the time. In 35 overseas games, the Quakers would allow only 21 opposition goals. The Quakers would end their incredible season with the ultimate prize – the World Championship, which they would win in a tournament in Italy, defeating the United States 2-1 in the final.

Simpson Flyers

The Simpson Flyers have to be considered a dynasty in Saskatchewan hockey. The senior team, based in the village of Simpson, would win the Saskatchewan Amateur Hockey Association D Provincial Championship 7 times, including an incredible five in a row, from 1969 to 1973.

Officials Category

Kevin Muench

For over 30 years, Kevin Muench dedicated himself to the game of hockey as referee, patrolling the ice and keeping order. Kevin spent 13 years as a WHL official, reffing National Championships, and even the 1992 Olympic Winter Games in France, serving as the lone Canadian official. After hanging up his skates, Muench was named Director of Officiating for the WHL, and has been heavily involved in Hockey Canada’s Officiating Program of Excellence.

Grassroots Category

Elgar Peterson

Born in Annaheim Saskatchewan, Peterson would move with his family to Humboldt, and quickly become a fixture in the community. Peterson became the first trainer and equipment manager of the Humboldt Broncos in 1970, and has been a key part of the team ever since. In the ultimate sign of respect from the Broncos, the team’s home rink would be named the Elgar Peterson Arena in his honour in 2000. Shortly after, the Broncos would go on to win their first ever National Championship.
The 2015 Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held on Friday, July 17th at the Elgar Peterson Arena in Humboldt. For ticket information please contact Michael Ulriksen at