SJHL Holds First Ever Draft: 15 SMHA Players Selected

The SJHL held their first ever bantam draft yesterday. The Yorkton Terriers selected Pilot Butte Storm forward, Austen Flaman with the first overall selection.

Through the six round player dispersal a total of 15 players from the Saskatoon Minor Hockey Association were selected including former Flyers Zone Alumnus, Matthew Smith who was selected fifth overall by the Humboldt Broncos.

Other SMHA players drafted include:

Eli Lieffers (Aces); 14th; LaRonge Ice Wolves
Kaden Boser (Wild); 19th; Battleford Northstars
Brodie Girod (Redwings); 20th; Nipawin Hawks
Tauren Simonar-Hayes (Wild); 24th; Melfort Mustangs
Matt Allardyce (Bobcats); 26th; LaRonge Ice Wolves
Ryan Olchoway (Flyers); 31st; Nipawin Hawks
Luke Penner (Wild); 32nd; Nipawin Hawks
Jordan Bairos (Wild); 40th; Flin Flon Bombers
Ty Muench (Redwings); 43rd; Battleford Stars
Layne Schroeder (Redwings); 45th; Flin Flon Bombers
Jordan Frey (Wild); 50th; LaRonge Ice Wolves
Nolan Haugen (GSHL Generals); 56th; Nipawin Hawks
Mackenzie Walkington (Redwings); 61st; Yorkton Terriers
Cale Elder (Redwings); 63rd; Kindersley Klippers

In total, 66 players were selected in the draft over 6 rounds by the 12 SJHL member clubs.