Riders Announce Roster Moves: QB/RB Positions Determined

While, the release of WR Jamal Richardson in Montreal may be the biggest surprise of CFL cutdown day. The Saskatchewan Roughriders made some bold moves releasing some CFL veterans on Saturday night.

Of note:

Quarterback Anthony Weber was the odd man out in the battle under centre. Darian Durant, Tino Sunseri and Seth Doege are the three quarterbacks that the Riders will keep this season.

The running back position will for now be a tandem of Keith Toston, and Anthony Allen as Jermaine Thomas was cut.

National/Canadian receivers Jade Etienne and Jordan Sisco were released, Mortty Ivy who had a great first pre-season game was also let go.

Kicker John Mark from the University of Calgary was released despite being a draft pick of the club last month.

Saskatoon Hilltop Andre Lalonde was also released.

And veteran linebacker Brandon Isaac was also let go.

Now it isn’t the end for all of these players as the Green and White have yet to name their 10 man practice roster. They are expected to to that early next week.

Here’s the complete list from the Green and White:

The Saskatchewan Roughriders have announced the following transactions:



  • National receiver Alex Anthony
  • National receiver Kristopher Bastien
  • International defensive lineman Jeremy Beal
  • National linebacker Travis Bent
  • International receiver Dan DePalma
  • International defensive lineman Robert Eddins
  • National receiver Jade Etienne
  • International linebacker Brandon Isaac
  • International linebacker Mortty Ivy
  • National fullback Andre Lalonde
  • National kicker John Mark
  • International defensive back Greg McCoy
  • National offensive lineman Kyle Paterson
  • National linebacker Kevin Regimbald
  • International receiver DeMarco Sampson
  • National receiver Jordan Sisco
  • International defensive back Troy Stoudermire
  • International defensive lineman Richard Sumlin
  • International receiver Isaiah Sweeney
  • International running back Jermaine Thomas
  • International offensive lineman Devin Tyler
  • National offensive lineman Matt Vonk
  • International quarterback Adam Weber
  • National defensive back Matt Webster
  • National defensive lineman Ryan Wellman
  • International defensive lineman Markus White



  • National offensive lineman Corey Watman 


  • International linebacker Chad Kilgore
  • International defensive back Carlos Thomas 

The team will announce the practice roster prior to Tuesday’s practice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *