Out With The Old – In With The New In Riderville

Today the Saskatchewan Roughriders introduced their new football operations staff.

The team then quickly went about remaking the roster. Here’s the official word:

Saskatchewan Roughriders vice president of football operations, general manager and head coach Chris Jones has announced his football operations staff.

Joining Jones in the front office will be assistant vice president of football operations and player personnel, John Murphy.

Murphy joins the Riders after spending eight seasons with the Calgary Stampeders, originally joining the team during their 2008 Grey Cup winning season. He joined the Winnipeg Blue Bombers as director of player personnel for the 2009 season before returning to the Stampeders where he spent the last five seasons as assistant general manager and director of player personnel.

Long serving Roughrider, Jeremy O’Day remains with the club after being named assistant vice president of football operations and administration.

O’Day originally joined the Riders front office in 2011 as a football operations coordinator after playing 202 regular season games through 12 seasons with the team. He has spent the last four seasons as assistant general manager and director of football operations. Last year, O’Day was named interim vice-president of football operations and general manager where he remained for the final nine games of the 2015 regular season.

Out with the old:

The Saskatchewan Roughriders have released the following players:

  • International running back Anthony Allen
  • International safety Tyron Brackenridge
  • International defensive back Weldon Brown
  • International defensive back Marshay Green
  • International defensive back Macho Harris
  • National linebacker Nathan Kanya
  • National defensive back Hugo Lopez
  • International defensive back Terrell Maze
  • National fullback Scott McHenry
  • International defensive back Junior Mertile
  • National linebacker Kyle Norris
  • International receiver Jamel Richardson
  • International defensive lineman Cameron Sheffield
  • International quarterback Blake Sims
  • International receiver Taj Smith
  • International running back Chad Spann
  • International defensive back Alex Suber
  • International defensive lineman Derek Walker
  • National linebacker Ryan Wellman