Huskies To Send A Pair To East-West Game

A pair of University of Saskatchewan Huskies were named to the roster for the 14th annual East-West Bowl announced by Canadian Interuniversity Sport on Wednesday.

Receiver Mitch Hillis and offensive lineman Evan Johnson will both join Team West for the May 14 game taking place at Percival Molson Memorial Stadium in Montreal at 1 p.m. The game can be seen live on

Hillis was named a CIS First Team All-Canadian in 2015 after a record breaking campaign for the green and white. The Saskatoon product set program benchmarks with 1052 yards and 66 receptions to go along with his seven touchdown catches.

Suiting up at left tackle, arguably the most important position on the offensive line, Johnson had another strong season for the Huskies. In his fourth season, the 6-4 Regina product played in all eight regular season games.

The East-West Bowl has been a marquee game in the CIS Football schedule. In 2015, 32 of the 44 CIS players who were selected in the CFL Canadian Players Draft participated in the East-West Bowl.

The East side has won five of the past six contests including a 29-21 victory in 2015 last May in Montreal. In the 2015 game, quarterback Drew Burko threw a touchdown pass for the East last season, while Drew Digout( OL), Brydon Ozmun (REC) and Dylan Kemp (LB) participated as part of Team West.


Tuesday, May 10
19:00-20:00 First meeting
20:00-22:00 Team meeting

Wednesday, May 11
10:00-13:00 Combine for participating players (Bell Sports Complex – Brossard)
16:00-18:00 Practice 1 (Molson Stadium)
18:00-22:00 CFL Free-Agent Camp (Molson Stadium)
20:00-22:00 Meetings

Thursday, May 12
10:00-12:00 Practice 2 (Molson Stadium)
15:30-17:30 Practice 3 (Molson Stadium)
18:00-19:30 Meetings

Friday, May 13
10:00-12:00 Practice 4 (Molson Stadium)
16:00-18:00 Practice 5 (Molson Stadium)
19:00-22:00 Banquet (Douglas Hall – McGill)

Saturday, May 14
13:00-16:00 East-West Bowl Game (Molson Stadium)


2015 (at McGill): East 29, West 21
2014 (at Western): East 19, West 12
2013 (at Western): West 18, East 17
2012 (at Western): East 24, West 16
2011 (at Western): East 34, West 27 (OT)
2010 (at Western): East 12, West 9
2009 (at Western): West 16, East 7
2008 (at McMaster): East 25, West 12
2007 (at Laval): West 22, East 19 (OT)
2006 (at Laval): West 34, East 26 (OT)
2005 (at Laurier): West 34, East 16
2004 (at Laurier): West 21, East 12
2003 (at Laurier): West 10, East 5


Pos. Name University HT WT Hometown


QB Theo Deezar Manitoba 6-5 230 Winnipeg, Man.
QB Asher Hastings McMaster 6-4 218 Regina, Sask.
RB Johnny Augustine Guelph 5-10 210 Welland, Ont.
RB Alex Christie Manitoba 5-9 195 Thorold, Ont.
RB Ed Ilnicki Alberta 5-10 215 Spruce Grove, Alta.
RB Stefano Napolitano Carleton 6-1 255 Stittsville, Ont.
REC Tylor Henry Alberta 5-11 184 Camrose, Alta.
REC Mitch Hillis Saskatchewan 6-0 185 Saskatoon, Sask.
REC Alex Morrison UBC 6-4 220 Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.
REC Mitchell Picton Regina 6-3 200 Regina, Sask.
REC Rashaun Simonise Calgary 6-5 190 Vancouver, B.C.
REC Adam Sinclair Western 5-11 197 London, Ont.
REC Danny Vandervoort McMaster 6-2 200 Barrie, Ont.
REC Aundrey Webster Alberta 5-10 185 Edmonton, Alta.
OL Brett Boersma Windsor 6-5 310 Camlachie, Ont.
OL Matt Degelman Regina 6-3 265 Regina, Sask.
OL Jordan Filippelli Calgary 6-5 310 Sherwood Park, Alta.
OL Geoff Gray Manitoba 6-6 310 Winnipeg, Man.
OL Evan Johnson Saskatchewan 6-4 265 Regina, Sask.
OL Braden Schram Calgary 6-5 290 Manning, Alta.
OL Cody Speller McMaster 6-3 295 Caistor Centre, Ont.
OL Danny Sprukulis Toronto 6-5 315 Oakville, Ont.


DL Kwaku Boateng Laurier 6-2 240 Milton, Ont.
DL Fabion Foote McMaster 6-2 290 North York, Ont.
DL Evan Foster Manitoba 6-1 240 Chilliwack, B.C.
DL Mark Mackie McMaster 6-2 262 London, Ont.
DL Jalen Price Laurier 6-5 325 Hamilton, Ont.
DL Cory Robinson Calgary 6-3 260 Airdrie, Alta.
LB Brandon Calver Laurier 6-3 220 London, Ont.
LB Brittley Mokube Toronto 6-0 212 Brampton, Ont.
LB Nakas Onyeka Laurier 6-1 217 Brampton, Ont.
LB Nikita Starchenko York 6-4 230 Whitby, Ont.
LB Michael Stefanovic Regina 5-10 210 Moose Jaw, Sask.
LB Marcel Ugoh Windsor 6-2 200 Brampton, Ont.
LB Corey Williams Toronto 6-2 232 Mississauga, Ont.
DB Tunde Adeleke Carleton 5-10 190 Ottawa, Ont.
DB Orion Edwards Guelph 5-9 182 Newmarket, Ont.
DB Matt Gayer Windsor 5-9 190 Leamington, Ont.
DB Richard Gillespie Toronto 5-9 190 Whitby, Ont.
DB Jordan Hoover Waterloo 6-2 190 Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.
DB Adam Laurensse Calgary 6-1 185 Sherwood Park, Alta.
DB Jesse McNair Western 5-11 186 London, Ont.
DB Kevin Wiens UBC 6-1 200 Mission, B.C.
DB Robert Woodson Calgary 5-11 181 Calgary, Alta.

Special Teams

K Félix Ménard-Brière Montreal 5-10 180 Sainte-Agathe-des-Monts, Que.

Coaching Staff

Head Coach: Blake Nill (UBC)
Assistant coaches: TBA

“I’m looking forward to working with the finest coaches and student-athletes in Canadian university football,” said Blake Nill, the head coach of the reigning Vanier Cup champion UBC Thunderbirds who will be at the helm of the West team, marking his sixth all-time selection as sideline boss at the East-West Bowl. “It’s an important part of showcasing our game and I’m positive this year’s edition of the East-West Bowl will live up to expectations and the high standards set by the event in previous years.”