Coach C Named Tops In CFL

Saskatchewan Roughriders head coach Corey Chamblin has been named the recipient of the Annis Stukus Trophy for being the 2013 CFL Coach of the Year.

Coach Chamblin was presented the award today by CFL Commissioner Mark Cohon at a luncheon in Ottawa, Ontario as part of the CFL’s annual league meetings.

“Coach Chamblin did a remarkable job of leading his players through adversity, high expectations and the ups and downs of a season,” said Commissioner Cohon.

“His Roughriders captured the hearts of not only Rider Nation, but Canadians across the country. On behalf of the entire league and our fans from coast to coast, congratulations on this distinct honour.”

Chamblin led the Riders to their fourth championship in franchise history, and their first Grey Cup victory in front of their hometown crowd in Rider Nation.

After winning their first five games of the season, the Riders finished with an 11-7 record and second place in the West Division. They hosted the BC Lions in the Western Semi-Final and won 29-25. The Roughriders would go on to defeat the first place Calgary Stampeders in the Western Final 35-13 and earn a berth in the 101st Grey Cup.

In the 101st Grey Cup, Chamblin’s Roughriders were up against the East Division Champion Tiger-Cats, a team led by 2013 Coach of the Year Finalist Kent Austin. Under the leadership of their second-year head coach, the Riders went on to defeat the Ticats 45-23 at Mosaic Stadium.

The CFL Coach of the Year is selected by 59 voting members of the Football Reports of Canada. Chamblin received 39 first place votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *