CFL Awards Finalists Announced

Toronto Argonauts quarterback Ricky Ray and BC Lions linebacker Solomon Elimimian will square off once more this season, but this time it will happen off the field.

The Canadian Football League announced today that the two players have been voted as the Most Outstanding Players in their respective divisions. The winner will be announced at the CFL Awards show on Thursday, November 27 at the Queen Elizabeth Theatre in Vancouver, British Columbia as part of the 102nd Grey Cup festivities.

The Most Outstanding Player awards, which include six categories, are voted on by 68 voters from the Football Reporters of Canada and head coaches from across the league.

Here are all of this year’s Most Outstanding Player nominees: 

PLAYER Solomon Elimimian (BC) Ricky Ray (TOR
DEFENSIVE  Solomon Elimimian (BC) Bear Woods (MTL)
CANADIAN Jon Cornish (CGY) Ted Laurent (HAM)
OFFENSIVE LINEMAN Brett Jones (CGY) Jeff Perrett (MTL)
SPECIAL TEAMS Lirim Hajrullahu (WPG) Swayze Waters (TOR)
ROOKIE Dexter McCoil (EDM) Tristan Okpalaugo (TOR)

Elimimian, who is also the West Division Most Outstanding Defensive Player, set the tackle and total tackle record in a single season. He also becomes the first defensive player in CFL history to be recognized as the Most Outstanding Player in his Division.

The 2013 Most Outstanding Player, Jon Cornish is looking to capture his third straight Most Outstanding Canadian Award, a rare feat that has only been done by Tony Gabriel (1976-78).

This marks the second time in as many years that both East and West Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman were both Canadian. Previous to last year, the last time this happened was in 2008 when Scott Flory and Gene Makowsky were honoured

Under the Most Outstanding Special Teams Player category, the last time a pair of kickers were in the running for the award was in 2006 when Sandro DeAngelis beat out Noel Prefontaine.

With Dexter McCoil and Tristan Okpalaugo named Most Outstanding Rookie’s for their respective divisions, it marks the first time both nominees are both defensive players since 2006 when Etienne Boulay and Aaron Hunt were up for the award.

Voters were asked to select players from their local CFL division who through on-field performance excellence, best represent the awards’ titles – Most Outstanding Player, Most Outstanding Canadian Player, Most Outstanding Defensive Player, Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman, Most Outstanding Rookie, and Most Outstanding Special Teams Player

The 2014 CFL Awards will be handed out on Thursday, November 27 at the Queen Elizabeth Theatre in Vancouver.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *